HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: TekTick

Asus RX 580 Strix TOP OC Review - Beast Mode On!

538 ratings | 44444 views
Asus RX 580 Strix TOP OC model comes at its rival with no mercy ►Price US - http://amzn.to/2quSD9F ►Price EU / DE - http://amzn.to/2qv25Kf ►Price UK - http://amzn.to/2pAg5xb ►Price CA - http://amzn.to/2qv2b4z ►Product page - https://www.asus.com/us/Graphics-Cards/ROG-STRIX-RX580-T8G-GAMING/overview/ ●You can also check this video on my website - https://www.tektick.com/graphics-cards/asus-rx-580-strix-top-oc-review/ Items linking to Amazon are a part of Amazon Affiliate program in which I participate. This way you're directly contributing to the channel and helping me to improve my content, and for that - a sincere thank you from me! You can support TekTick while shopping at Amazon ►Amazon US - http://amzn.to/2dkzzDb ►Amazon CA - http://amzn.to/2grXEKN ►Amazon UK - http://amzn.to/2eU9BHH ►Amazon EU / DE - http://amzn.to/2fuPd1L ●Test system configuration: CPU - Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.6 GHz - http://amzn.to/2dHOshr MBO - Gigabyte Z270X-Gaming 5 - http://amzn.to/2mxhK9o RAM - ADATA Dazzle 2 x 8 GB DDR4 2800 MHz - http://amzn.to/2d3WlN1 GPU - as seen in the review SSD0 - Intel 730 SSD 240 GB - http://amzn.to/2dHNBNv SSD1 - Plextor M6V 256 GB - http://amzn.to/2dfOrp1 SSD2 - Kingston UV400 480 GB - http://amzn.to/2gHoBtO Cooling - MSI Core Forz L - http://amzn.to/2r87o1U PSU - Seasonic Prime 80Plus Titanium 750W - http://amzn.to/2di40dF OS - Windows 10 64-bit - http://amzn.to/2dw8l9Y Drivers - AMD Crimson 17.4.3 Main Monitor - AOC U3477PQU - http://amzn.to/2dteabQ Don't forget to subscribe to the TekTick YouTube channel if you want to see more content like this, as well as to participate in a discussion through our social media channels listed down below. ► Subscribe - http://goo.gl/6ls45l ► Google Plus - https://www.google.com/+Tektick ► Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/TheTekTick ► Twitter - https://twitter.com/thetektick ► Instagram - http://instagram.com/thetektick/ ► Twitch - http://www.twitch.tv/tektick TekTick Website - http://tektick.com/ MUSIC 26CARAT - FACTS: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fky-j88UlJ4 CREDITS • 26CARAT https://soundcloud.com/26carat https://twitter.com/26caratmusic https://www.facebook.com/26caratmusic https://www.instagram.com/26caratmusic MUSIC Soul Catalyst - Solstice: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7DfOyPfF98Q CREDITS • Soul Catalyst https://soundcloud.com/catalyst-11 https://twitter.com/TheSoulCatalyst https://facebook.com/SoulCatalystMusic
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (198)
TekTick (1 year ago)
It's big, but it's cool and fast! Could you live with those three fans and a little bit of extra noise?
EDWARD KING (1 year ago)
Actually, when a graphics card with multiple fans like this one is configured correctly the card makes less noise than a card with only one or two fans.
Matt Heitmann (1 year ago)
TekTick also, I have custom profile that sets the fan speed to 30% and it's much more bearable. and my card also has very bad coil whine over 120 fps. it's terrible in menus!
Matt Heitmann (1 year ago)
TekTick I have the strix 480, I have to say I am sad that I don't have this beefy cooler! my card is very quiet, much more than my previous Vapor-X 290(RIP). Yeah, it's probably unfair to compare a 290 with a 480 but still, much better noise! mine overclocks to 1450 no problem also, so I'm not missing any performance :)
Thomas (1 year ago)
I prefer the Sapphire,it performs pretty good and the noise lvl is not to loud. I dont like loud cards. And coil whine is a no go for me.
CASSE11E (1 month ago)
can you download and use aura software on my MSI motherboard?
CASSE11E (1 month ago)
+TekTick ok thanks :)
TekTick (1 month ago)
For the GPU itself? I think you can
chaoslitch (1 month ago)
Lol
cabbage-eating prick (3 months ago)
I don't get it. My SRTIX OC edition @1360MHz is always 80C in games. Can old PSU affect this? PUS is Gigabyte's GE-C650N-C4 and it's pretty much 6+ years now.
Jelluhhh (3 months ago)
Got the same card and a i5 6400. Tried playing battlefront 2 (the newest) its stuttering every now and then. I also have freesync enabled. Any ideas how to improve it? Also CSGO's, performance could be better. Its stuttering when I try to turn around.
Jelluhhh (3 months ago)
​+TekTick Yes it but it didn't really show it improved
TekTick (3 months ago)
Did you try turning off V-Sync?
Jelluhhh (3 months ago)
Yes I do and a run all of my games from it +TekTick
TekTick (3 months ago)
Do you have an SSD?
rZvEe (3 months ago)
doest it work for rx 580 asus dual ?
TekTick (3 months ago)
In context of crossfire support? Yes!
1dirosa1 .Michael Dirosa (3 months ago)
I have the world record with this card and a it 8600k at 4.7 I got the overclock on the 580 at 1520mhz at 1200v firestrike score is almost 14000
Justin Mosimann (1 month ago)
+Boofhead same. i'm about to liquid metal mine this weekend as it runs hot as f hitting 85-86 at 1411mhz
1dirosa1 .Michael Dirosa (3 months ago)
+Boofhead cause o got a strixx TOP edition the only card that I will ever buy . Spend a bit more money next time .. if u do have it ... then make a higher fan curve
Boofhead (3 months ago)
My card is hitting 80 degrees all the damn time how are you not melting yours?
1dirosa1 .Michael Dirosa (3 months ago)
TheStillo9 oh fuck yea 80 ish fps on 3440 x 1440 high to very high settings n fxaa
TheStillo9 (3 months ago)
nice! is this card worth buying?
Actualghost 65 (3 months ago)
Will this fit in any atx cases?
TekTick (3 months ago)
In a modern day one, I would say yes. But, it's always better to check the dimensions for yourself, the data and specification are pretty much always available
Frozn Fire (4 months ago)
is it really loud? other reviews said it is the most quiet card and doesnt have noticable coilwine... didnt heard one saying it was loud
xRayz (1 month ago)
TekTick Is the Sapphire RX 580 louder than the Strix 580?
TekTick (4 months ago)
It's not that loud, I don't think it will be a problem in a chassis, but it's was louder than other RX 580's which I've reviewed at that time.
3en6ie (4 months ago)
No coil whine at all on mine but fan speed is like 2000 rpm when it's only 65c? So yeah fan speed is loud. I can adjust fan speed lower with no worry of overheating. Just mention it.
TekTick (4 months ago)
Yes!
iiToasteyy (4 months ago)
2:45 *wait so can i use those fan pins on the gpu for a extra 2 case fans?*
3en6ie (4 months ago)
short answer is no. Asus fumbled this feature. the fan headers don't activate unless GPU temp is hot and only if you use shitty Asus software GPU Tweak II. If you just use AMD drivers and plug in fans they won't work.
Leander (5 months ago)
me: Why do you put it on ur railing u walnut a fuckin bird is gonna land on it and make it fall!!!!!!11!!!!!
TekTick (5 months ago)
HAhaha 😂
Muy Muy (7 months ago)
Is this better than the gtx 1050 ti?
Andy 45 (22 days ago)
It's even a little bit better than the 1060 6gb heck even the rx 570 is much better than the 1050 ti the 1050 ti is too overpriced for its performance
Muy Muy (7 months ago)
TekTick last question will my ryzen 3 2200g bottle neck my asus rog strix gtx 1060 ?
Muy Muy (7 months ago)
TekTick ok thankyou so much !!
TekTick (7 months ago)
For this configuration, you don't need more than 500-600W! As for the price, it depends on the model, you can find from 40 - 80$
Muy Muy (7 months ago)
TekTick ok thanks so much and how many watts? Im going to buy a pc in about two days so im budgeting it thanks for the replies
Killerash13 (8 months ago)
Gta v fps?
TekTick (8 months ago)
Way above 60 FPS!
Killerash13 (8 months ago)
TekTick 1080p
TekTick (8 months ago)
At what resolution?
Parsa (8 months ago)
witch one is the best to buy, msi gtx 1070 8 GB or this one?
Parsa (8 months ago)
the store was close to my house xD
TekTick (8 months ago)
Already??? You're comment was only 6 hours ago 😄
Parsa (8 months ago)
To late for that... i got my rx 580
TekTick (8 months ago)
GTX 1070 is overall a stronger card series
malovat nutelu (10 months ago)
nice video
TekTick (10 months ago)
Thanks!
Trippy_Boxer_Dog (11 months ago)
hi, great review, i just bought this GPU, i have a question, do u need to install amd catalyst suite on top of installing the drivers that come with this?
Trippy_Boxer_Dog (11 months ago)
I downloaded the AMD catalyst suite, are they better than the drivers than you get with this GPU tho? Maybe you could do another video testing the difference between both?
TekTick (11 months ago)
You don't need to, you can just download the latest driver from the website!
Dragonasu' (1 year ago)
I will buy it!
TekTick (11 months ago)
Nice, hope you enjoy it! :)
VAHAP ENGÜZEL (1 year ago)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VFegQeg1xZ8 bu daha iyi
FaiYaZZ vLoGs (1 year ago)
Your review is top notch !!! 😍
FaiYaZZ vLoGs (1 year ago)
TekTick welcome ☺️
TekTick (1 year ago)
Thanks!!
Matt Theriot (1 year ago)
How does this card compare to a reference 1070?
Mitchell Williams (1 year ago)
Obviously it doesn't compare. The 480/580 is a competitor of the 1060. The 1070 is over $150 more and focused towards high frame rate and high resolution gaming.
TekTick (1 year ago)
It's weaker!
Lewis Brown (1 year ago)
This is on sale in US on Newegg for $285 USD after $20 mail-in rebate and includes new Quake game product key. I'm a long time ATI/AMD Sapphire user but since aesthetics was on my checklist for an upgrade, the Top OC clocks plus the RGB won. I'm upgrading from an R9 280X Vapor-X so I can't wait to see what it can do!
MegaDominik1 (1 year ago)
Lewis Brown wtf youre so lucky. In germany the rx 580 strix is nearly not available. Just for like 400 - 450 € meanwhile others rx 580 prices are dropping beloe 300 €. Feels so Bad, i love the look of the strix but 100+ € more expensive than sapphire? Sorry im out :/
TekTick (1 year ago)
Sweet, that's a nice upgrade!
Dr. Doeboy (1 year ago)
WHY ARE YOU PUTTING IT ON A RAILING ON A HIGH SURFACE!!! ARG!!!
Dr. Doeboy (1 year ago)
Still! So much stress!!!
TekTick (1 year ago)
I'm being careful, I promise!!! :D
MrSushiGaming (1 year ago)
i dont really care bout power consumption and noise because i got this corsair 850 watt power supply on black friday for 59.99 and my headphones have super noise blocking.
TekTick (1 year ago)
Good deal!
John Braman (1 year ago)
you're the first one i heard say there's a coil whine. i've watched alot of big name's on here and not one mentioned it.
TekTick (1 year ago)
Yeah, I don't like coil while, nobody does :D
DCikac (1 year ago)
Hi i have 1 question and it's based on the 4 pin connectors for the coolers. If you plug in some RGB coolers does the rgb aspect work ? like if u plug in NZXT AER do they change color like the asus strix on color cycle?
TekTick (1 year ago)
You mean the ones on the graphics card?
Kimsrun Tang (1 year ago)
Should I get Strix RX 580 (not TOP version) or 1060 for future proof?
Kimsrun Tang (1 year ago)
TekTick Sorry I want to ask another question, Can I OC on Strix RX 580 (non OC version)?
Kimsrun Tang (1 year ago)
TekTick thanks bro! I will choose RX 580 instead then cuz of RGB back plate.
TekTick (1 year ago)
Probably RX 580, AMD tends to work on their drivers for a long time
Procas (1 year ago)
Is the strix worth getting over sapphire nitro +
TekTick (1 year ago)
I don't think so
Vasilis Samourkas (1 year ago)
Awful coil whine. I am preparing it for a return
BoomWithPeter (1 year ago)
lol strix gtx 1060 doesnt have a rog logo on backplate iluminated but much cheaper rx 580 has...
ironmatic 1 (1 year ago)
Zurph, that's because of the mining craze.
Zentrify (1 year ago)
BoomWithPeter not in finland, in finland a 1060 strix oc is 380€ and rx580 strix top is 430€
Flying Cheez (1 year ago)
Thanks this really helped me make my mind up for my new graphics card!
TekTick (1 year ago)
No problem, glad i could help!
Konkey Dong (1 year ago)
Do you think it could fit in a GA-B250M-DS3H Micro ATX LGA1151?
TekTick (1 year ago)
Yes, without a problem, just make sure your chassis can take it!
Iris Jonatan (1 year ago)
how much is the original price release?
Iris Jonatan (1 year ago)
oh thanks mate!
TekTick (1 year ago)
MSRP for RX 580 series was around 240-250$, depending on the model.
Rezaul Hridoy (1 year ago)
light is only yellow?
NuTLock23 (1 year ago)
does that count white because i didint see it in the circle thing and could it fit in the nzxt s340??
TekTick (1 year ago)
No, you can change to any color from RGB spectrum! 😊
Rinch Hunter (1 year ago)
this is a good benchmark
TekTick (1 year ago)
Thanks!
John kriepto (1 year ago)
I have the same card but without the TOP. I just have the OC version. Do you think i could flash the bios of the TOP version on my card? To get higher hashrates for mining;-)
BoomWithPeter (1 year ago)
FUCK MINERS FUCK YOU BITCH BECAUSE OF YOU I NEED TO USE FUCKING RX560 CYKA BLYAT
John kriepto (1 year ago)
Ok, i copied the 1:1750 strap to the 1:2000 and then i putted the memory clock from 2000 to 2100. Any more tips?
TekTick (1 year ago)
Nah, no need, just OC it manually!
Crypto-Sam (1 year ago)
Fantastic vid mate, What configs did you use in your the card, I have the same one and wish to do the same overclock, also how stable is it at 100% load and whats the power draw?
TekTick (1 year ago)
I think it's around 180-200W and in my case it was fully stable!
Moe I (1 year ago)
enjoying my RX 580 STRIX TOP OC! lucked out on the silicon too! 1520mhz core / 2250mhz mem / 45% fan (63c max temp) max power target, +25 voltage.
Snuffy _ (13 days ago)
I got my Rx 580 sapphire to 1500 no problem, just put voltage up all the way lol.
AF25 (1 month ago)
Moe I is it really loud
Oscar Larsen (1 year ago)
can this card fit in my nzxt s340 elite, and will it take up 2 or 3 slots?
TekTick (1 year ago)
It will take two and half, so yes three, and it should fit!
Online Work 4 U (1 year ago)
Sir Please Tell Me the How Much ower Consumption of One Asus RX 580 Strix 8GB Card?
TekTick (1 year ago)
Around 150-200W
mpeugeot (1 year ago)
Hmmm, wondering why my ASUS RX480 with RX580 bios runs faster with a 1515 MHz core speed and 9200 (2300) MHz on the ram? I thought the silicon was "improved' on the RX580?
martin mystere (1 year ago)
my prebuilt pc with this gpu inside should arrive tomorrow... my first gaming PC. cant wait to play minesweeper on that.
TekTick (1 year ago)
and Solitare! 😂
nice oc you did there!
TekTick (1 year ago)
Thank you, this GPU is quite potent tough! 😊
Jose Sanchez (1 year ago)
You sound like one of the hosts from Hardware Canucks. Subscribed :D
TekTick (1 year ago)
Hehe, I get that a lot! Thanks! 😊
Lazarus Magellan (1 year ago)
i like your intro :D
TekTick (1 year ago)
Thank you! 😊
Skydaze (1 year ago)
So who do you think takes the cake on OC? the Strix GTX 1060 or Strix RX 580
BoomWithPeter (1 year ago)
lol rip you 970s coil vine....no no trow that SHIT
SubacaDog (1 year ago)
I think the 580 is a little bit faster and cheaper than the 1060, so I would definitely go AMD on this one (and that's coming from someone who has a GTX 970)
Skydaze (1 year ago)
I think he meant by the brand Asus DUAL GTX 1060 the non Strix white one. It's considerably cheaper if you know how to oc and if you don't care less about looks.
Mahad Mohamed (1 year ago)
Pci Craftsman i didn't say nothing about sli. Besides most of the people buy only one gpu.
Pci Craftsman (1 year ago)
Mahad Mohamed dual GTX 1060 you say? LOL YOU CANNOT SLI GTX1060. THAT'S WHY MOST PEOPLE CHOOSE RX580.
STR33TSofJUST1C3 (1 year ago)
This card is stupidly overpriced. 340EUR. All while the Gaming X is available for 295EUR and the Gaming X+ is available for 315EUR. And the Sapphire Pulse is stupidly cheap at 260EUR, but I've not seen many reviews, and some people are complaining about its temps. Perhaps you could provide us some benches and temps of the RX580 Pulse?
acemay3 (1 year ago)
it is $299 8g 1411mhz at newegg
Democritus86 (1 year ago)
yeah the asus strix is crazy... it goes to the pricepoint where you give 50 more and you get a 1070......
STR33TSofJUST1C3 (1 year ago)
The Gigabyte Aorus Xtreme cools just as good, from the benches I've seen; and is considerably cheaper at 310EUR. I don't find the price on the Asus justified.
TekTick (1 year ago)
+STR33TSofJUST1C3 Yes, it's really up there in terms of the price, but as for the temperature It stands decently good in comparison to others.
EdvinMaster (1 year ago)
I'm getting the oc strix version (not top oc) for this card and it only has 1380 mhz on oc mode. Do u think I could hit 1480 mhz too with manual overclocking and is the overclock to that speed for 24/7 or is it not recommended to constantly have an overclocked gpu?
TekTick (1 year ago)
+EdvinMaster Yup!
EdvinMaster (1 year ago)
So I can still have the oc on all the time and its automatic when the frequency goes up to 1450+ etc?
TekTick (1 year ago)
+EdvinMaster It's not going to be overclocked to that frequency all the time, only when the GPU is under load! Nothing to fear in regards of that! You'll probably hit your max somewhere in that neighbourhood!
Long.Live.4th (1 year ago)
XFX >>>>>>>
Titanclaw 24 (1 year ago)
Hey,nice overview once again,one question though,why Dota 2 has more fps in dx11 then vulkan?Shouldn't vulkan gives more performance?
TekTick (1 year ago)
That has been a head scratcher for me for a quite some time now. I see people getting less performance (being it with nVidia or AMD) or more performance, it swings around. I'm hoping to solve that issue, doing a fresh install of Windows and games and check out in detail what's wrong, if really something is wrong.
TheTechDimension (1 year ago)
Hey man just watched one of your tutorial videos and am really impressed by the content you put out great job keep it going!
TekTick (1 year ago)
Thank you! 😊
Matti (1 year ago)
So this . sapphire or MSi ?? :| I'm in doubt since 2 week ago :D
STR33TSofJUST1C3 (1 year ago)
Whichever is the cheapest or colour you like the most.
Dqz Q (1 year ago)
but then i would rather get the sapphire nitro. never heard anything about the XTR.
Dqz Q (1 year ago)
oh, here in sweden the strix is 10 euros cheaper then the XFX GTR.
Democritus86 (1 year ago)
asus strix is way to expensive here... goes up to 350euros.
Dqz Q (1 year ago)
Democritus86 i would get either the XFX GTR or the ASUS Strix. I think i will end up getting the GTR beacuse of the ASUS coil whine.
nerd Mike (1 year ago)
It can't be find anywhere, how do you get it? Also on Amazon link you posted up here no TOP model.
acemay3 (1 year ago)
just ordered mine i will order one more later when i get the cash up and run in crossfire mod
acemay3 (1 year ago)
it is at newegg for 299 Item#: N82E16814126192
nerd Mike (1 year ago)
Are you receiveing that model for free? Lol :D I cannot find that model too here .-.
TekTick (1 year ago)
No problem! 😊 Next stop - Aorus RX 580 XTR 😉
nerd Mike (1 year ago)
Ok! I misunderstood your sentence :D I've ordered the Nitro+ Limited Edition, binned chip also btw ;)
Victor Ciobanu (1 year ago)
Damn you are awesome keep up the good work ;)
TekTick (1 year ago)
Thank you!!! 😍
Thomas (1 year ago)
Good Video. Thx.
TekTick (1 year ago)
Thanks! 😊
UHD Gaming PC (1 year ago)
what is this shit, my £160 cheapest amd rx 480 dual by asus can do 1450mhz on 2.25 voltage on air
chupei cycling (1 year ago)
finally a english review of this card, too bad of the coil whine, def don't want that.
Lapine (4 months ago)
+Uncle Elias you can cap frame rate without using vsync
Uncle Elias (1 year ago)
I have a RX 480 8GB OC Strix. It has coil whine too. I previously had a Powercolor Red Devil RX 480 for a short time before it was returned. That too had coil whine. The chokes aren't designed to deal with the frequencies/frame rates these cards are capable of running at. The solution is to lock frame rates to something where the coil whine goes away. Generally that means enable Vsync. However, with Freesync monitors you can attempt to play with the maximum frame rate slider.
O!Technology (1 year ago)
Coil whine is a luck of the draw hit or miss thing.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.